Login or register below to manage
your account through Mindbody Online

Login or register below to manage your account through Mindbody Online

Yoga of 12-Step Recovery

Wednesday, February 20 with Laura McCann at North from 7:30 – 8:45pm

The characteristics and effects of addiction could easily be described as separation. Addictive behaviors disconnect us from ourselves, our loved ones, our environment and so much more.

Conversely, yoga itself means union, integration, balance. Yoga and its practices teach the fine art of balancing our multidimensional lives while living in a complex world.

Yoga of 12-Step Recovery was created as a holistic model to address the physical, mental and spiritual dis-ease of addiction. Informed by the latest research in neuroscience and trauma healing, Y12SR “connects the dots” by combining the somatic approach of yoga with the cognitive approach of the 12-step recovery model – the most well-known addiction recovery program in the world, with millions of active practitioners. We share first, usually, and after sharing, we move the body, to move out what is stuck. As Nikki says, “The issues are in the tissues”.

Recovery is a slow and winding road, and the more tools in the tool bag, the better. This class would be another tool. This class would build community. Bringing people together who maybe never spoke of their addiction or recovery to anyone before.

1/3 of the donations will go to the Hispanic Relief organization for relief aid in Puerto Rico.

https://hispanicfederation.org

about your teacher

Laura McCann

Laura was introduced to Yoga as a way to stay in shape after a high school career in gymnastics. Although she loved the physical aspect of the practice, she quickly noticed the much more significant healing and therapeutic effects of yoga in her body and soul.

In 2006 she completed her teacher training and dove right in, teaching many different populations and modalities. What she connected with most was Philadelphia’s Mural Arts Program, where she taught populations at risk for being incarcerated.

“I immediately saw the healing taking place. The way these teens and young adults finally found a way to calm down and connect to themselves, their own heart. I knew yoga was going to make some kind of difference in their lives.”

Laura went on to train with Nikki Meyers and the Y12SR movement, becoming a Y12SR leader and space holder.

“Sometimes we reach for things that aren’t necessarily the best for us, in an attempt to make us feel better. If we can pause, take a breath and pay attention to the present moment, in that moment the mind will quiet itself and the body will calm. That’s what yoga helps us do.”

02/20

date & time

Wednesday, February 20 with Laura McCann at North from 7:30 – 8:45pm

location

Yoga Yoga North – 2167 W Anderson Lane, Austin, TX 78757. Phone: 512-380-9800

price

15.00

suggested donation

Upcoming Yoga Plus Events:

Tuesday, February 19 at Northwest with Mehtab from 7:30 – 9:00pm
Friday, February 22 at Westgate with Elissa from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, February 22 | 6:30 – 7:45pm with Lizzie at Westgate
Saturday, February 23 at North with Alice from 1:30 – 4:30pm
Sunday, February 24 at Westgate with Ashley and Nick from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Wednesday, February 27 with Laura McCann at North from 7:30 – 8:45pm
Saturday, March 2 at North with Emily L. from 12:30 – 2:00pm
Tuesdays: March 5 – 26 at Westgate with Samantha from 1:30 – 2:45pm
Saturday, March 9 at Westgate with Kristi from 2:00 – 4:30pm
Tuesdays: March 26 – April 16 with Sheila at Westgate from 1:30 – 2:45pm
Saturdays: April 6 – 27 with Karlie at North from 1:30 – 4:30pm
Saturday, April 13 with Kristi at Westgate from 2:00 – 4:30pm
Monday, June 3 – Friday, June 7 with Sharon at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 10 – Friday, June 14 at Northwest with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 10 – Friday, June 14 with Hollie at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 17 – Friday, June 21 at Northwest from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 17 – Friday, June 21 with Sharon at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 24 – Friday, June 28 at North with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 8 – Friday, July 12 with Hollie at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 15 – Friday, July 19 at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 22 – Friday, July 26 with Sharon at Westgate with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 22 – Friday, July 26 with Michele at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 29 – Friday, August 2 with Hollie at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, August 5 – Friday, August 9 at Northwest from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, August 12 – Friday, August 16 with Lara at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
August 24 – 25 at Westgate 1:30 – 5:30pm each day
September 20 – 23 at North Module I ONLY – $695