Login or register below to manage
your account through Mindbody Online

Menu

Login or register below to manage your account through Mindbody Online

Menu

How to Play the Gong: A Weekend Training in Fundamentals and Skill Development with Mehtab and Siri Bahadur

May 25 – 26 at Westgate

In this training, you will learn how to play the gong and explore its uses in meditation, therapy, and relaxation. We’ll have several gongs to choose from and everyone will have an opportunity to play the gong and experience first-hand the techniques discussed in class. This class is excellent for teachers wanting to integrate the gong into their classes or anyone interested in learning more about this powerful and transformational instrument.

No previous musical training or experience with the gong is required to take this workshop. Open to everyone. This class is limited in space, please sign up early!

Training Schedule:
Saturday and Sunday
12:30 – 5:30pm each day

about your teacher

MEHTAB BENTON

Mehtab, one of the founders of Yoga Yoga, completed his first Kundalini Yoga teacher-training program in 1974 at the Hargobind Ashram in San Rafael, California. He went on to teach Kundalini Yoga in the public schools and in drug rehabilitation programs. He is a Level 1 and Level 2 Kundalini Yoga Teacher Trainer and an Experienced 500-Hour Registered Yoga Teacher (ERYT-500). He has an educational background in psychology with advanced training in Integrative Yoga Therapy.

Mehtab is a four-time presenter at the Southwest Yoga Conference, and received the International Kundalini Yoga Teacher’s Association ‘Building Communities in Yoga’ award in 2000. He has taught Kundalini Yoga workshops and classes to students and teachers from around the world at the annual Kundalini Yoga Summer Solstice gathering in New Mexico. He is also the author of 11 books, including the recently released Gong Yoga: Healing and Enlightenment through Sound, and of over 100 articles on yoga, health, diet, and nutrition.

SIRI BAHADUR

Siri Bahadur began practicing and teaching Kundalini Yoga in 1974 in Dallas, Texas. He completed the inaugural Master’s Touch Teacher Training by Yogi Bhajan in 1996, and continues to learn and train with international teachers like Gurucharan Singh Khalsa and Guru Dev Singh. He is also involved as a teacher in the Yoga Yoga Teacher Training program.

Siri Bahadur’s yoga classes focus on conscious release of tension, thought patterns, emotions and unproductive habits acquired in your life experience; while creating the intentions that lead to the experience of your energetic, graceful, Infinite, and Divine nature. Teachers who influence his practice include, Guru Ram Das, Yogi Bhajan, Gurucharan Singh, Krishnamurti, and Guru Nanak. Wahe Guru (Ecstatic revelation of that which brings darkness to light.) ~ Kundalini Yoga Mantra (Neutralizes any depression or neurosis.)

 

05/25

date & time

May 25 – 26 at Westgate

location

Yoga Yoga Westgate – 4477 S. Lamar Blvd Austin, TX 78745. Phone: 512-358-1200

price

225.00

$225 ($275 after April 8)

Upcoming Yoga Plus Events:

Tuesday, April 23 with Xenia at North from 12:00 – 1:00pm
Wednesday, April 24 with Laura McCann at North from 7:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday, April 25 with Billy at North from 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursdays: April 25 – May 16 with Kristi at Westgate from 10:30 – 11:45am
Friday, April 26 with Jenny O at Westgate from 4:30 – 5:30pm
Friday, April 26 with Amparo at Westgate from 6:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, April 26 with Ashley and Nick at North from 7:00 – 8:30pm
May 18-19 with Baba Shiva Rudra Balayogi at Westgate from 7:00 – 9:30pm each day
Saturday, May 18 at Westgate with Mehtab from 7:30 – 9:00pm
Saturday, May 18 with Alice at Westgate from 1:30 – 4:30pm
Thursdays: May 23 – June 13 with Mary at North from 6:00 – 7:15pm
Friday, May 31 with Alyson (Atma) at Westgate from 7:30 – 9:00pm
Saturdays: June 1 – 22 with Kelli Fleming at North from 12:00 – 4:00pm* at North *1st session on June 1 is 12:00 – 6:00pm
Monday, June 3 – Friday, June 7 with Sharon at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Sunday, June 9 with Karlie at North from 2:00 – 4:30pm
Monday, June 10 – Friday, June 14 at Northwest with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 10 – Friday, June 14 with Hollie at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 17 – Friday, June 21 at Northwest from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 17 – Friday, June 21 with Sharon at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 17 – Friday, June 21 with Lara at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, June 24 – Friday, June 28 at North with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 8 – Friday, July 12 with Hollie at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 15 – Friday, July 19 at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 22 – Friday, July 26 with Sharon at Westgate with from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 22 – Friday, July 26 with Michele at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, July 29 – Friday, August 2 with Olivia at North from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, August 5 – Friday, August 9 at Northwest from 1:00 – 4:00pm
Monday, August 12 – Friday, August 16 with Lara at Westgate from 1:00 – 4:00pm
August 24 – 25 at Westgate 1:30 – 5:30pm each day
September 20 – 23 at North Module I ONLY – $695